Take Your Utah Concealed Carry Course at Adiga Armory!
The Utah CFP/CCW is one of the most popular and widely-accepted permits in the country. Utah is a “shall issue” state, meaning that as long as you are not disqualified for current or prior unlawful behavior, you will be issued a permit. A Concealed Firearm Permit [CFP] course is required by Utah law in order to obtain a permit to carry a concealed, loaded firearm within the State. By law, this course must be completed in person, not online or remotely. Our Utah CFP course is instructed by a BCI-Certified and NRA-Certified firearms instructor. This will insure that the instructor has the proper authority to certify your application, and the proper training to provide you with valuable firearm safety knowledge.
HOW TO SIGN UP FOR THE COURSE:
- Check the schedule for course dates and locations
- Submit a reservation online
- Military, veterans and spouses read this page for discount info
- IMPORTANT: After you submit a reservation, we will send you an email invoice to pay for your course, you must pay the invoice within 24-hours to avoid automatic cancellation of your reservation.
WHAT TO BRING TO CLASS:
- Valid state-issued ID [REQUIRED]
- Military and vets bring proof of honorable service for discount [CAC, VHIC, NGB22 or DD214]. Military spouses bring spouse military ID card for discount if not accompanied by the veteran
- Pen and notebook
- Drinks with screw-on lids
- Snacks to eat during breaks
HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?
$45.00/Person for single state or $75.00/Person for UT + CO course.
WHO CAN APPLY FOR A UTAH PERMIT?
Utah is a “shall-issue” state, meaning that you don’t have to prove “good cause” to get a permit. You only need to meet the conditions below:
- Applicant must be at least 21 years of age;
- Must meet the following;
- has not been convicted of a felony
- has not been convicted of any crime of violence
- has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude
- has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence
- has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent
- is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law
- Subject to a criminal background check by the BCI and the FBI
- For more information on denials, suspensions and time-frames associated with criminal convictions, contact the Utah BCI at BCI.UTAH.GOV
THE UTAH PERMIT IS VALID IN MANY STATES:
- See BCI.UTAH.GOV for the most current list of states that recognize the Utah CFP
WHAT NEEDS TO BE INCLUDED IN MY APPLICATION PACKET?
- A Utah CFP application form that is signed and stamped by your CFP course instructor.
- A photocopy of your drivers license.
- One recent, passport-grade color photo of the applicant.
- One set of fingerprints on a standard, FBI-type fingerprint card.
- You must provide a physical/street address on your application.
- Non-resident proof of permit: If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit.
- Persons born outside of the USA must write alien registration number or naturalization number on both the application and the fingerprint card. Include photocopy of proof of US citizenship/permanent residency.
- Application fee; check or credit card only.
IS MY CFP INFO PUBLIC?
- No. Your CFP application and status info is private and protected by law.
- It is a crime to publish Utah CFP holder information.
WHAT IS INCLUDED IN THE ADIGA ARMORY UTAH CFP COURSE?
- A comprehensive 4-hour Concealed Carry firearms lesson, including:
- a full breakdown of critical laws and regulations that you need to comply with when carrying
- a full breakdown of the CFP application process and requirements
- instruction on gun/ammo selection, carry accessories and weapon cleaning/maintenance
- instruction on gun safety, shooting positions, active shooter response, room clearing risks, and more
- A certified, stamped application for your Utah CFP application packet; satisfies your so-called “Weapon Familiarization” requirement
- Phone and online support for assistance during your application process
WHAT IS NOT INCLUDED IN OUR COURSE?
- Passport photos: We like to focus our courses on gun safety, response tactics and gun laws. Taking up student and instructor time to take pictures is not a good way to use your course time. We offset the price of our courses to cover this cost for you.
- Fingerprints: We urge caution against anyone offering fingerprints with their CFP courses. The FBI is very strict, and if a single print is slightly off, they may reject your prints, resulting in 4-6 weeks of additional delays. We recommend only using a professional fingerprinting technician and electronic fingerprinting such as the BCI offers to guarantee your prints are good. We offset the price of our courses to cover this cost for you.
- Submitting your application: We will give you all of the info you need to succeed, but you must submit your own application materials to the BCI.
- BCI Application Fees: The BCI fees change quite regularly. Check the BCI website at bci.utah.gov for the most current fees. These must be paid to the BCI directly when you submit your application.
NO SHOOTING TEST REQUIRED:
We do not do a shooting test in our Utah CFP courses for the following reasons:
- It is not required by current Utah law
- It would nearly double the price of your course without adding any real training value
- It takes a lot more than firing a magazine or two to become proficient with your weapon; you must take responsibility for your own skill level and gain proficiency before carrying in public [see the Handgun Fundamentals Course or Private Lessons]
CONTACT THE BCI HERE:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129